fbpx Approach to Early Learning | Active Kids Group
Active Kids Group | Our approach to learning banner 2 |
Our approach to Early Learning
Our approach to Early Learning

Throughout each of our 14 child care services across Sydney, Active Kids Group has a strong focus on the developmental needs, interests and experiences of each child, encouraging learning through play for children from Nursery through to Preschool.

Active Kids Group provides opportunities for your child to learn and develop every day through a specialised curriculum that is based on The Early Years Learning Framework for Australia. The Framework‘s vision is for all children to experience play-based learning that is engaging and builds success for life. This is central to our Early Learning approach.

The Framework outlines three key attributes for childhood learning and development, that is, belonging, being and becoming.

  • Belonging is the basis for living a fulfilling life. Children feel they belong because of the relationships they have with their family, community, culture and place.
  • Being is about living here and now. Childhood is a special time in life and children need time to just ‘be’—time to play, try new things and have fun.
  • Becoming is about the learning and development that young children experience. Children start to form their sense of identity from an early age, which shapes the type of adult they will become.

Educators will work with you to deliver a learning program that builds on your child’s natural interests and abilities, while considering individual differences.


The Early Years Learning Framework is a guide for early childhood educators who work with children from birth to five years. They will use the Framework in partnership with families, children’s first and most influential educators, to develop learning programs responsive to children’s ideas, interests, strengths and abilities, and recognise that children learn through their play.

This ensures your child receives quality education programs in line with the National Quality Standard in their early childhood setting. This is a vital time for them to learn and develop.

Read more about The Early Years Learning Framework for Australia here
The National Quality Standard (NQS) is a key aspect of the National Quality Framework (NQF) and sets a high, national benchmark for early childhood education and care services in Australia. Early childhood services are rated against 7 quality areas of the National Quality Standard:
  1. Educational program and practice
  2. Children's health and safety
  3. Physical environment
  4. Staffing arrangements
  5. Relationships with children
  6. Collaborative partnerships with families and communities
  7. Governance and leadership
The National Quality Framework (NQF) provides a national approach to regulation, assessment and quality improvement for early childhood education and care and outside school hours care services across Australia. The NQF includes:
  • National Law and National Regulations
  • National Quality Standard
  • Assessment and quality rating process
  • National learning frameworks.
Read more about the NQF here.